Cost for a Civil Marriage License in Minnesota is $115 cash only (no checks, debit or credit cards).
You can save a portion of the fee if you bring in a signed, dated, and notarized Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement (PDF) when you apply for your license. You must have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education from a licensed or ordained minister or a person authorized to solemnize marriage under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33.
The Educator's Statement (PDF) must be printed on the letterhead of the person who provided the premarital education in order to receive the reduced fee of $40 cash only.
There are no refunds once you apply for your marriage license.