About Polk County

Polk County Government Center

Polk County, with a population of approximately 32,000, is located in northwestern Minnesota. The county seat is Crookston. The county is the 5th largest in the state, approximately 2,013 square miles. Polk County consists of 58 townships and 15 cities.

Polk County Mission

It is the mission of Polk County to provide a comprehensive, high quality set of governmental services to the land owners, businesses, residents and visitors to Polk County in a professional, courteous, efficient and cost effective manner.


According to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture, it has ranked number 1 in three areas of crop production - spring wheat, dry beans and sugarbeets. 


The county hosts: 

  • The Glacial Ridge National Wildlife and Rydell National Wildlife refuges
  • Several very popular recreational lakes
  • Two county park-campgrounds
  • Two of American Crystal Sugar Company's processing plants
  • The University of Minnesota-Crookston and Northland Community Technical College (East Grand Forks) campuses


County operations and services are provided by about 300 of the very finest employees. 

Governing Board

The governing board is the five-member Polk County Board of Commissioners.